100 Lewes Women # 58 – Jessica Zoob

Local artist and painter, Jessica Zoob, reflects on the women that have inspired her and on the importance of art for society.

What do you do?
I am an artist. 

What do you love about your role?
I love painting because it allows me to be creative everyday. 

Which women have inspired you?
My two daughters because they teach me new things all the time.  Besides them, my inspiring women are: Katherine Hepburn (actor), Dolly Parton (singer), Hedy Lamarr (actor & inventor), Elisabeth Gilbert (journalist & writer) and Elisabeth Frink (sculptor).

What are the challenges of being an artist?
Staying honest and true to yourself is vital and sometimes that can be very hard. 

What role do you think art plays in society?
I think it is vital. I think people need the arts, music, dance, painting, theatre etc as a way of finding and exploring and expressing what it means to be fully human. 

What do you like about Sussex?
I love the people, the pagan rituals, the beautiful landscapes and the sea. 

Photo: courtesy of Jessica Zoob.

Read more: https://www.jessicazoob.com/artist-biography/

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑