100 Lewes Women #57 – Jo Shiner

In 2020, Jo Shiner made history as the first woman to be Chief Constable of Sussex Police. She tells us what the Sussex Police Force is doing to improve its equality and diversity.

What do you do? I am the Chief Constable of Sussex Police, and have been in this role since July 2020.  I am really proud to say I am the first female Chief Constable in the history of Sussex Police.

My career in policing started 28 years ago in Norfolk and during this time I have undertaken a wide variety of roles.  These have predominantly been operational, both in uniform and within Child and Adult Protection Units, Criminal Investigations and as a Firearms, Public Order and Critical Incident Commander.

What do you love about your role?  ​I feel incredibly humbled and privileged to be able to have a job where I can lead an incredible and committed workforce to make a positive difference to our communities.  I remain as passionate now about policing, as I was 28 years ago. I regularly try to get out and about to meet with my staff and the communities in Sussex and love to hear of the fantastic work being done.   

Which women have inspired you?  I am inspired by several people, men and women, most of whom I have worked with and who have devoted their time to selflessly protecting others.

What is the Sussex Police service doing to improve its equality and diversity?  Sussex Police are leading the way as diverse employers who promote the differences in our staff and ensure equality.

I was delighted in July when Sussex and Surrey Police, working in collaboration, were recognised in this year’s Times Top 50 Employers for Women.  It was a very proud moment to be the first female Chief Constable for Sussex, and then receive this award in recognition of our commitment to achieving gender equality within both the workforce and the communities we serve.  Much of the praise for this award goes to our previous chief Constable, Giles York who led the national HeForShe policing agenda.

Tackling gender inequality is a policing issue, because to combat domestic and sexual abuse, where the victims are predominately female, as well as a significant element of serious crime and violence, we need to tackle the gender inequality that underpins it in society. 

What makes a good leader?  I believe a good leader listens, cares and is always prepared to learn and improve in order to serve their staff.   A good leader must be prepared to make both popular and unpopular decisions if they are the right thing to do to deliver an outstanding police service to the public.  Strong values support good leadership and these values for me are about leading with strength, clarity and empathy, with a good dose of common sense and humour.

What do you like about Sussex?  I love everything about Sussex, it is a truly diverse and beautiful place to be. When I am not at work or fulfilling my charitable roles, I spend much of my time walking, running and cycling with my husband Andrew and much loved rescued Mountain dog Rocky.

Photo: courtesy of Sussex Police.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑